Kent Golf Limited

Short History of Kent Golf Union

The "Kent Golf Union" was inaugurated at a meeting held at The Golfers' Club, 2a Whitehall Court, W.C. on April 29th 1925. Twenty of the fifty Clubs circulated signified their intention ofjoining the "Kent Golf Union" - (name changed to Kent County Golf Union 1961), viz:-
Bellingham Royal Blackheath
Bromley & Bickley Royal Cinque Ports
Chislehurst Shortlands
Elmstead Sidcup
Greatstone St. Augustine's
Herne Bay Sundridge Park
Hythe Thanet
Knole Park The Wildernesse
Langley Park Tonbridge
Mid Kent Walmer & Kingsdown
Officers were elected as follows:-
President : Major The Hon J. J. Astor
Vice President: C. H. Gray
Hon. Sec. And Treasurer: Capt. G. A. White
The first Amateur Championship of the County was played over the links of the Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club on 24th-25th-26th September 1925.
There were sixteen entries for the Championship and seven entries for the Club Championship.

The Kent Golf Union selects a team which competes in the Southern Section of the South Eastern Counties League Championship which comprises: Kent, Surrey, Sussex, Dorset and Hampshire.
The Winner of this league plays the Winner of the Northern Section which comprises -
Bedfordshire, Berks, Bucks & Oxon, Essex, Hertfordshire and Middlesex, with the Champion County receiving the Daily Telegraph Salver.
The Union also arranges Friendly matches with other Counties and Golf Associations.
The Union enters a team for the English Counties Championship every year and during the course of the Season runs the following Championships: -
The Kent Amateur Championship
The Kent Junior Championship - under 18 on 1st January of year played
The Kent Youths Championship - aged 18 to 25
The Kent Seniors Championship - aged 55 or over
The `Oscar Ash` (Mid Handicap) Championship - 3 to 12 handicap
The Kent Mid Age Championship - aged 35 or over
The Kent Veterans Club Championship - aged 60 or over
The Kent Amateur Foursomes Inter-Club Championship
The Kent Junior Foursomes Inter-Club Championship
Top Club Handicap Knockout
Handicap Competition for Individual County Members
The Kent Cubs Championships - under 10 & under 13 on 1st January of year played
The Hinge Trophy (formerly the Winter Trials)
EGU Gold Medal Qualifying

The Union selects Colts and Senior teams to compete in an identical league as the one described above.
The Union enters teams in the South Eastern Counties Junior Championship and the South
Eastern Counties Junior Foursomes.
The Union runs a number of "Golf Days" for the sole enjoyment of individual County Members whose support helps the Union to carry out its necessary functions.
The Union organises coaching events for members of its teams and for aspiring Junior golfers.
The Union organises an Annual Dinner. 



1925-1947 Major The Hon. J.J. Astor
1947-1959 J. Chilton
1959-1966 F.N. Hetherington
1966-1978 T. Dilks Page
1978-1983 W.E. Doole
1983-1988 E.J. Green
1988-1996 K.A. Statham
1996-1999 R. Young
1999-2003 R.W. Saunders
2003-2009 I.S.R. Burton
2009-2011 C.H. Tappin
2012- J.E. Pocknell


Hon. Secretaries and Treasurers

1925-1927 Capt. G.A. White
1927-1934 T. Chilton
1934-1936 Capt. H.S. Greenwood
1936-1974 G. Simpson
1974-1975 A. Boler
1975-1977 A.S.C. Harris
1977-1981 J.D. Lewis
1981-1988 H.F.S. Darkins


1988-1995 B.M. Evans
1995-1999 J.H. Goby
1999-2003 S.S. Fullager
2003-2011 B.L. Sparkes
2011-2014 J.G. Young
2014- P.D. Loman



1949-1954 J. Graham
1954-1957 T.D. Page
1957-1961 G.S. Darlington
1961-1963 M.F. Wisher
1963-1967 M.J.F. Meason
1967-1970 V.E. Barton
1970-1973 J.D. Lyons
1973-1977 J.D. Lewis
1977-1980 D.G. Neech
1980-1983 B.M. Evans
1983-1986 C.G. Reynolds
1986-1989 I.S.R. Burton
1989-1992 R.F. Hervey
1992-1996 R.W. Saunders
1996-1999 J.E. Pocknell
1999-2000 J. Carter
2000-2003 C.H. Tappin
2003-2006 A.F. Andrew
2006-2009 S. Naylor
2009-2012 P. Donaghey
2012- D.J. Curtis



Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.