Kent Golf Limited

Paul Boozer wins revitalised Teise Trophy

Kent’s Paul Boozer, from Sheerness Golf Club, won this year’s Teise Trophy at Lamberhurst Golf Club last Sunday, 19th September. A score of 152 overall in the Kent Golf Order of Merit event was enough to seal victory in the 30-strong low handicap amateur competition.

After several years’ hiatus due to poor weather, lack of entrants and the global pandemic, it was great relief for all concerned at Lamberhurst Golf Club to reinstate the Teise Trophy, that was first played for in 2005 and includes European Tour player Alfie Plant as one of its past-champions.

Previously held in May, the competition was switched to a new September date. As a 36-hole competition, the scores in the morning round reflected the difficulties posed by the sloping, tricky greens with only one local member, Gary Collins, being able to match the par of 72.

The afternoon scores showed that the players had learned to cope with the challenging conditions from their morning rounds and the scores were dramatically improved in most cases. The impending bad weather held off and everyone had a pleasant day’s golf with many of players complimenting the condition of the course and the friendly welcome they received.

Pictured Above: Teise Trophy winner Paul Boozer, from Sheerness Golf Club, presented with the trophy by Lamberhurst Club Captain and fellow-competitor Eric Sneddon.


>> Full Results


All Day Gross

First: Paul Boozer (Sheerness) - 152

Second: Adam Perfect (Rochford Hundred) - 154

Third: Tommy Fancett (Weald of Kent) - 154 (countback)

All Day Nett

First: Nigel Oliver (Lamberhurst) - 142

Second: Jason Pierce (Weald of Kent) – 145

The best individual A.M and P.M scores outside the overall winners:

Best AM Gross: Gary Collins (Lamberhurst) - 72

Best AM Nett: Alan Nicholson (Lamberhurst) - 70

Best PM Gross: Jason Saunders (Windlesham) - 75

Best PM Nett: Daniel Naqvi (Canterbury) - 71

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.